Contact Us For Advertising & Marketing Services Find out More

Academy Introduces Spotify Channel for the Oscars

Academy Introduces Spotify Channel for the Oscars

Academy Introduces Spotify Channel for the Oscars

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has introduced its first Spotify channel, debuting several unique playlists.

The channel will feature Oscar-winning songs with over two-hours of music of tunes that won Best Original Song.

Oscar host Neil Patrick Harris picked his favorite Oscar-winning songs. All five of this year’s Best Original Songs are included.

[ How Oscars Are Losing Their Relevance ]

The largest playlist on the channel is one where Academy asked the 2015 Oscar nominees what song best described how it felt when they were nominated.

Here’s that playlist:

  • Joris Oprins: The Pixies “Where Is My Mind”
  • Alan Robert Murray: “Somewhere Over The Rainbow”
  • Andrew Lazar: New Radicals “You Get What You Give”
  • Gregg Rudloff: Tegan and Sara “Everything is Awesome”
  • Joel Cox: The Pointer Sisters “I’m So Excited”
  • Peter Morgan: James Brown “I Feel Good”
  • Diane Warren: Rita Ora “Grateful”
  • Chris Williams: Cameo “Word Up”
  • Don Hall: U2 “Beautiful Day”
  • Roy Conli: The Grateful Dead “Sugar Magnolia”
  • Jon Taylor: Guns N Roses “Welcome To The Jungle”
  • Graham Annable: Prince “Kiss”
  • Daniel Barrett: Pharrell “Happy”
  • Kristina Reed: The Weather Girls “It’s Raining Men”
  • Patrick Osborne: Tegan and Sara “Everything Is Awesome”
  • Hugo Guinness: Jimmy Cliff “The Harder They Come”
  • David White: “Pure Imagination” from Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory
  • Paul Corbould: Avicii “Wake Me Up”
  • Brent Burge: Timmy Trumpet & Savage “Freaks”
  • Jason Canovas: Groove Armada “Superstylin'”
  • Bonnie Arnold: “A Dream is a Wish” from Pinocchio
  • Dean DeBlois: James Brown “I Feel Good”
  • Julian Raymond: Etta James “At Last”
  • William Goldenberg: The Beatles “Birthday”
  • Keira Knightley: The Pointer Sisters “I’m So Excited”
  • Mark Bridges: Katrina and the Waves “Walking On Sunshine”
  • Gary Rizzo: Van Halen “Eruption”
  • Gregg Landaker: Crowbar “Oh What A Feeling”
  • Paul Franklin: U2 “Beautiful Day”
  • Ian Hunter: The Eurythmics “Sweet Dreams”
  • Charlotte Watts: Nick Cave “Deanna”
  • Gary Yershon: “It Might As Well Be Spring” from “State Fair”
  • Suzie Davies: The The “Uncertain Smile”
  • Tomasz Sliwinski: Madonna “Hollywood”
  • Talkhon Hamzavi: M83 “Midnight City”
  • John Legend: Common & John Legend “Glory”
  • Tomm Moore: Live In Ireland “Singing In The Rain”
  • Daisy Jacobs: Nina Simone “Feeling Good”
  • Robert Duvall: “It’s Been a Long, Long Time” from “Hello Dolly”
  • James Lucas: “Gonna Fly Now” theme from Rocky
  • Gabriel Gilberto Serra Argiello: JUSTICE “DANCE”
  • Roger Deakins: “Hooray For Hollywood”
  • Damien Chazelle: Gene Krupa “Sing Sing Sing”
  • David Lancaster: “Caravan” from Whiplash
  • Jason Blum: “Gonna Fly Now” theme from Rocky
  • Damián Szifron: “Singing In The Rain”
  • Cameron Waldbauer: American Authors “Best Day of my Life”
  • Lou Pecora: Beethoven’s “Ode to Joy!”

The 87th Oscars will be held today, February 22, 2015, at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center in Hollywood, and will be televised live on the ABC Television Network at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT.

The Oscars also will be televised live in more than 225 countries and territories worldwide.

Photo courtesy: Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



HTML tags are not allowed.